Browse News for more articles like this.

Corpus Christi to vote on council, mayor, bonds

Some 23 individuals have filed for nine places on the Corpus Christi City Council for the Nov. 8 mid-term election. Residents can register to vote through Oct. 11. Early voting is from Oct. 24-Nov. 4.

Voters will choose a mayor and eight City Council slots (three at-large and five serving individual districts). All incumbents, except District 2 representative Ben Molina, have filed and will stand for re-election.

With the filing deadline past, the candidates who will appear on the ballot are:


  • Paulette Guajardo (incumbent)
  • John Wright

At-large (top three vote-getters win)

  • Mike Pusley (incumbent)
  • John Martinez (incumbent)
  • Michael Hunter (incumbent)
  • Rachel Caballero
  • Rene Cervantes
  • John Garcia
  • Jim Klein
  • Nancy Vera

District 1

  • Billy Lerma (incumbent)
  • Tracy McCall
  • Everett Roy

District 2

  • Sylvia Campos
  • Brian Rosas
  • Mark Scott

District 3

  • Roland Barrera (incumbent)
  • Armon Alex
  • Eric Cantu

District 4

  • Greg Smith (incumbent)
  • Dan Suckley

District 5

  • Gil Hernandez (incumbent)
  • Christopher Hegg

Council members serve two-year terms and are term limited.

Voters on Nov. 8 will also decide on a bond package that would fund $128 million in public improvements. Projects include street and park upgrades, new police and fire stations, and renovations to the La Retama Central Library.

Find more articles like this in News

Leave a reply