Browse News for more articles like this.

TAMU-CC picks Quintanilla as new president

After serving as interim president at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi for six months, Dr. Kelly M. Quintanilla was named as the lone finalist for the position. Her appointment is expected to become permanent after a 21-day review. Courtesy photo

Dr. Kelly M. Quintanilla will soon be the new president of Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, replacing Flavius Killebrew, who retired in December. Quintanilla has been serving as interim president since Killebrew left and will be the first woman to ever serve as head of the university. She will have to undergo a 21-day review period before the decision becomes final.

The decision came after a 15-minute executive session at a board of regents meeting June 19.

“I have always been impressed by Dr. Quintanilla’s intellect, work ethic and dedication to serving the university and the Coastal Bend,” said Chancellor John Sharp in a news release.“I think we can expect Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi to continue to make great strides under the leadership of Dr. Quintanilla.”

Since 1994, Quintanilla has filled several positions, including provost, vice president for Academic Affairs, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and director of the School of Arts, Media & Communication. She also chaired the Department of Communication and Theatre. She taught classes in business and professional communication, teamwork and leadership, organizational communication, public relations and public speaking.

She holds a Ph.D. in communication from Pennsylvania State University and has always been active in her local community. In Corpus Christi, she served as a board member for the Art Museum of South Texas, the symphony orchestra and the Harbor Playhouse community theater. She is the mother of a teenage daughter.

“I have been privileged to spend the last 23 years working alongside faculty, staff, community and legislative partners to serve Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi,” Quintanilla said. “I am grateful to the search committee members, Chancellor Sharp and the A&M System board of regents for selecting me to serve in this important leadership role.”

Find more articles like this in News

Leave a reply